TD Athletes Edge

Discover Your Edge (TM)

  • basketball
  • baseball
  • soccer
  • softball

5 Ways to Fix Your Front Plank

Posted by tdifranc on August 25, 2013

Everyone is doing front planks these days and yet I rarely see them done correctly. When performed and utilized the way they are supposed to be, they can be a very effective Anti-Extension based core exercise. When they are done wrong they can be at best a waste of time and at worst a good way to create back pain!

Screen shot 2013-08-25 at 10.11.05 AM

The term “Anti-Extension” simply refers to the idea that the primary muscles being targeted (anterior core/ab muscles) are engaged in order to prevent spinal extension. Read this post from the TDAE archives to understand why repetitive/forced spinal flexion is ALL-BAD! 

Stop thinking about the front plank as a vessel to set world records and start thinking of it as a way to train your core the right way! A friend of mine and expert on training the core the right way (among other things) Pavel Tsatsouline showed me some of his secrets to performing the world’s greatest front plank a while back. Now I want to share his secrets and some of my own with you.

  1. Chin Position – The cervical spine should be aligned with the rest of the spine. Avoid cranking the neck up into extension or letting it hang in flexion. Simply make a double-chin and you will be aligned!
  2. Chest Position – Press the chest away from the floor and avoid hanging on your shoulders. Not only is this bad for your shoulders but when you press away from the floor you engage muscles around your shoulder blades that are critical for posture/rotator cuff health.
  3. Elbows to Toes – Pavel showed me this and what a HUGE difference this makes! By isometrically pulling your elbows to your toes during a front plank you engage your Lats. The Lats are easy to leave out of discussions regarding what makes up the core but that is a big mistake! Try it…you will feel what I mean immediately.
  4. Glutes – It is critical to get the glutes to be active during any core exercise because in function/sport neither acts alone. The core and glutes need to learn to perform together and by engaging them during a front plank you train the body the way it functions!
  5. Hold & Relax – Stop trying to set records with how long you can hold your planks! The core does not have to hold for 5 minutes straight in a hard isometric contraction in daily life or sport so why train it that way? Long hold planks are also a great way to trade duration for form which creates compensatory mechanisms and stress on the wrong areas. Try doing short & PERFECT holds – 8-15 seconds x 5 with short breaks in between…your core and your low back will be happy!

Here is a video to guide you through the 5 ways to make sure you are doing perfect front planks and you are training the core the right way!

Follow on Twitter/Instagram for more: @tdathletesedge

16 Responses to “5 Ways to Fix Your Front Plank”

  1. […] Before you dive into a New Year’s Resolution to attack those love handles with crazy core training make sure you have the dirt on how to train the core the right way! Do not spend a bunch of time, money or energy on reaching your training goals just to end up hurting yourself…do it the right way. Start with a quick peek at the Secrets to Training the Core the Right Way post I did, and then hit up my post on 5 Ways to Fix Your Front Plank. […]

  2. Although the mechanisms for these effects are not
    yet fully understood, it has been hypothesized that the unique
    combination of proteins and IGF-1 present in colostrum bodybuilding supplements serves to stimulate muscle protein synthesis.
    Some soy milk or rice milk, vanilla and organic soy protein powder make a good base.
    The bodybuilding supplements for men have different ingredients made
    to affect the male body in a certain way.

  3. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this put
    up used to be great. I don’t recognize who you’re however definitely you’re going to a well-known blogger in case you aren’t already.
    Cheers!

  4. Very good information. Lucky me I recently found your site by chance (stumbleupon).

    I have book-marked it for later!

  5. Every weekend i used to visit this site, for the reason that i wish for
    enjoyment, as this this web page conations really good
    funny stuff too.

  6. Magnificent items from you, man. I have take
    note your stuff previous to and you are just extremely fantastic.
    I really like what you have received right here,
    certainly like what you’re stating and the best way by which you are saying it.
    You’re making it entertaining and you continue to care for to keep it wise.
    I can not wait to read far more from you. This is really
    a great web site.

  7. When I initially commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added”
    checkbox and now each time a comment is added I get four emails
    with the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me
    from that service? Bless you!

  8. If you desire to improve your knowledge just keep
    visiting this web site and be updated with the most recent news update posted here.

  9. Very good site you have here but I was wondering if you knew
    of any discussion boards that cover the same topics
    discussed here? I’d really like to be a part of online community
    where I can get feed-back from other knowledgeable individuals that share the same interest.

    If you have any suggestions, please let me know.
    Cheers!

  10. Hmm it appears like your site ate my first comment (it was extremely long) so I
    guess I’ll just sum it up what I wrote and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I as well am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything.
    Do you have any recommendations for novice blog writers?
    I’d definitely appreciate it.

  11. Excellent weblog right here! Also your web site lots up fast!
    What web host are you using? Can I am getting your affiliate hyperlink on your host?
    I want my web site loaded up as quickly as yours lol

  12. Heya! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any issues with hackers?
    My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended
    up losing many months of hard work duee to nno backup.
    Do you hwve any methods to prevent hackers?

  13. My spouse and I stumbled over here from a different web page and thought I might as well
    check things out. I like what I see so i am just following
    you. Look forward to checking out your web page for a second time.

  14. Very quickly this web site will be famous amid all blogging viewers, due
    to it’s pleasant articles or reviews

  15. I have been reading your articles 5 Ways to Fix Your Front Plank « TD Athletes Edge and they are very useful for me to read something new and intresting. And You can also view our web also high yield investments.

  16. Yօur style is so unique cmpared to other folks I have reaɗ
    stuff from. Thank you for posting whhen you have the opportunity, Guess I
    will just book mɑrk this blog.

Leave a Reply

 
